Google Website Translator Gadget

Thursday, 15 September 2011

Artsmart Pop-Up Market & Lula Knits





Last weekend at the Mayor’s Thames Festival the University of the Arts London launched the first Artsmart pop-up market. Located on the north side of the river in St Katherine Docks, Artsmart included alumni stalls selected from the summer market held at UAL. Stallholders sold beautifully crafted one-off creations from fine art to fashion. 

Highlights were the wonderfully intricate work of illustrator Becky Brown, fine bone china tea services designed by Julie Spurgeon for Material Pleasures, Zombie Collective's bold graphic prints and beautifully crafted head wear from Emin & Paul LTD

I purchased two E&P headbands and have been swanning around the house like a 50's housewife in them ever since. What can I say, I have a serious weakness for headbands and fascinators!

 



If you missed out here's a full list of the stall holders who took part : 

Becky Brown – www.becky-brown.com
Betty’s Revenge – www.bettysrevenge.co.uk
Cup of Sea – www.etsy.com/shop/CupOfSea
Emin & Paul London LTD
HomeWork – www.homeworkcollective.co.uk
Just For the Halibut – www.justforthehalibut.co.uk
LULAKNITS – www.lulaknits.blogspot.com
Material Pleasures – www.materialpleasures.net
Parasite Ceramics – www.parasiteceramics.co.uk
Purpose & Worth etc- www.purposeandworthetc.com
Rockabye-Baby – www.rockabye-baby.com
Small Fury – www.smallfury.com
Sroop Sunar – www.sroopsunar.com
UGO – www.ugosboutique.com
Will Nixon Art – www.willnixonart.co.uk
Zombie Collective – www.zombiecollective.co.uk

My favourite pick from the stall holders was Lula Knits, a regular at Greenwich Market, Lula studied Textile Design at Chelsea College of Art and Design. Her products are influenced by traditional craft concepts such as Fair Isle knitting, American samplers and Scandinavian patterns. Lula creates bold, geometric knitted designs for wash bags, canvas bags and bunting. She also knits pom-poms and cushions, snugly lamb’s wool headbands, and gorgeous chunky knit snoods in rich autumnal colours; ideal for keeping warm as the nights draw in.


No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...